Holly Willoughby and Phillip Schofield snubbed at NTAs as Alison Hammond replaces them

Holly Willoughby has enjoyed years at the top of the National Television Awards food chain alongside her former co-host Philip Schofield – but the pair have both been snubbed in a 2023 twist.

Famed in previous years for being daytime show This Morning's golden couple and making it to the Best TV Presenter category numerous times, the former duo have been replaced by fan favourite Alison Hammond, who is representing the ITV show this year.

The fall from grace comes as Holly, 42, has been left flying solo after Phil's departure from ITV, following a bout of scandal and feud rumours between the pair. Upon his resignation, he admitted to an 'unwise but not illegal' relationship with a much younger male colleague on the show.

Despite their previous close friendship, 61-year-old Phil's revelation led to a breakdown in his relationship with Holly – who told viewers she was 'shaken and troubled' by the ordeal.

She has continued at the helm of This Morning in the months since, joined by a number of guest presenters to fill her former co-stars shoes. But it doesn't seem to have been enough to earn her a spot in the NTA running this year, despite usually taking the crown.

Voted by the public, the NTAs celebrate the very best in British TV and are known as the 'biggest night in television'. While Holly and Philip were both 'longlisted' for the Best TV Presenter gong, they didn't make the final nominations like pal Alison.

Prior to this year's scandal, Phil and Holly were known for their boozy NTA antics and presenting a hilarious 'the morning after' show. They even fronted the 2016 instalment still wearing their award show outfits, admitting that they 'hadn't been home' and were feeling hungover.

However, last year's ceremony was also laced with drama as it came just weeks after Phil and Holly were accused of 'cutting in line' to see the Queen lying in state, leading to a barrage of backlash.

This meant that while they took to the stage to celebrate This Morning's Best TV Daytime win, Phil partied the night away without his best pal, who is said to have left early following the mixed reaction from their victory.

Alison has tough competition, as she is up against Anthony McPartlin and Declan Donnelly, who took the award for the 21st year in a row at last year's ceremony, as well as Martin Lewis, Claudia Winkleman and The Chase's Bradley Walsh.

The awards ceremony takes place on September 5 and will also see This Morning battle Loose Women, The Chase, and The Repair Shop for the Best Daytime TV Show gong, as a number of other TV stars hope for a win during the star-studded evening.

    Source: Read Full Article