I'm a first-time buyer – my pub side hustle added £10k extra to my deposit for £295,000 home | The Sun

LUCIA Harrison managed to turn her passion for quizzing into a lucrative side-hustle, raising £10,000 to put towards her deposit.

The 29-year-old accountant worked four shifts a week as a quiz host at pubs around Bristol to boost her savings.

The keen quizzer, who has also appeared on ITV's The Chase, was able to pocket between £800 and £1,000 a month in extra cash.

This helped her to get on the property ladder quicker, and she got the keys to her three-bedroom terraced house in Bristol in August this year.

Setting herself a goal to buy her first home as soon as possible, Lucia also made the most of her Lifetime Isa.

Anyone between the ages of 18 and 40 can open a Lifetime Isa to save for buying a first home.


We are first-time buyers – we saved £7k with six tricks to buy £144k home

I’m a first-time buyer – my Christmas side hustle added £3,600 to my deposit

Savers are able to withdraw money from their ISA if they are buying a home, over 60, or terminally ill with less than 12 months to live.

But you’ll pay a 25% charge if you withdraw money or transfer the Lifetime Isa to another type of Isa before the age of 60.

Lucia put the maximum of £4,000 a year into her Isa, with the government paying an additional 25%.

Over three years, Lucia bagged a £3,000 bonus from the government to put towards her deposit, which was £50,000 in total.

Most read in Money


Martin Lewis issues warning to millions ahead of mortgage announcement this week


Martin Lewis warns of simple mistake that could cost you thousands of pounds


Thousands of households to get £180 free cash paid directly into bank account


Thousands of energy customers to get compensation – check if you're one of them

We sat down with Lucia to discuss how she went from being a saver to a homeowner for The Sun's My First Home series.

Tell me about your home

It's a three-bedroom terraced house in Bristol.

The property still needs a fair bit of renovation, but it's a really good size and has a lot of potential.

Downstairs there is a a fairly large living room and a kitchen-dining room.

I have a garden and an outdoor toilet, which definitely came in handy when I had my bathroom renovated.

Upstairs there are two double bedrooms and one single bedroom, which I am planning on using as an office.

How did you decide on location?

I have lived in Bristol for the last five years after moving here for a graduate scheme and I knew I wanted to stay.

My house is close to the high street which has lots of shops, good pubs and access to nightlife.

I also live near a park which is really nice for taking a stroll through.

The area is also quite sought after, so I know that when I come to sell, my house will hopefully have increased in value quite a lot.

How much was it?

My house cost £295,000 and I put down a 17% deposit of £50,000.

I took out a mortgage of £245,000 for 37 years with a fixed rate interest of 2.79% five years.

My monthly mortgage repayments are £885 a month.

How did you save for it?

I gave up holidays

I started to save really hard from the beginning of the first lockdown in March 2020.

I love travelling and I have visited almost 40 countries now.

So while not being able to travel over lockdown was sad for me, I managed to save a lot of cash.

Before, I would spend around £250 every three months on a trip, so I saved around £2,000 in total over two years.

I saved £1,000 out of my wage

The lockdown also meant I was able to save around £1,000 out of my salary every month.

I split this money, with £500 going into my Cash Lifetime Isa and £250 into my Stocks and Shares ISA that I had with Moneybox.

I also had a trading account, with Plum and I put £250 in here.

With my Lifetime Isa, I got a £3,000 bonus from the government for saving £4,000 each tax year.

I made around £1,000 in profit from my Moneybox Stocks and Shares Isa and around £200 from my Plum account.

I moved house and saved £225 on rent

In November 2020, I moved out of a shared house in Bristol city centre, and moved into a flat further out of the city.

I was spending £675 a month on rent in the shared house.

But moving out of the city slashed my rent down to £450 a month, which I split with my former partner.

So I only paid £225 a month.

We were lucky because the property was owned by a friend, and he let the property to us at a lower rate.

My pub quiz side hustle

In May 2021, I took up a second job hosting pub quizzes.

This started with just one a week at first, but I quickly fell in love with it and then started doing around four quizzes a week.

This bought in between £800 and £1,000 extra a month.

I know that walking around with a microphone and hosting isn't for everyone, but I think it's great fun.

You also get free food and drinks, which is a bonus.

I managed to bag a pay rise

I was also lucky enough to get a new job, which offered me a 20% pay rise.

This meant that I could borrow more money from the bank and I could look at higher value properties.

Helping hand

My parents also gifted me £25,000 towards the deposit.

I was very lucky to get this help and I know not everyone is as lucky.

The main reason I got the help from my parents was so I could lower my monthly mortgage repayments and secure a better interest rate.

How did you afford to furnish it?

I have been buying everything in stages and I still have some stuff to get as I only moved in fairly recently.

Facebook Marketplace was really useful for finding some good quality, second hand furniture.

I would look for things people giving away for free and set up alerts with key words like 'dining table', so I knew as soon as they were posted.

I managed to get a dining table for free – the only catch was I had to collect it from Bristol city centre myself.

By using Facebook marketplace, I was also able to get a longer table for entertaining friends and five dining chairs for free.

I was also lucky enough to spot an armchair going for free.

While I was there, the seller also offered me a brand new Ikea desk for free.

All in all, I think I managed to save around £300 by looking for free furniture.

What advice would you give to other first-time buyers?

If you haven't already, open a Lifetime Isa – you can do this with just £1.

If you can save £4,000 a year, you get £1,000 free from the government, which is a great incentive.

While I know it's not realistic for everyone, if you feel like you are underpaid, I would consider looking for a new job.

I was able to borrow more because I went for a new job, with better pay.

Read More on The Sun

Love Island star swipes at Molly- Mae after she claimed show didn’t help career

I’m a housing expert – my easy tips that will help prevent condensation

Here's how one couple got £11,000 off their deposit for their £217,000 first home.

Another family is saving thousands on their £385,500 first home with a simple mortgage trick.

Source: Read Full Article