What flags are in King Charles' coronation and what do they mean? | The Sun

THE day has finally arrived for King Charles III to be crowned at his coronation at Westminster Abbey.

Throughout the coronation weekend, there will be certain flags used to celebrate the historic occasion.

What flags are in King Charles' coronation?

The State Standard – a large Royal Standard – will fly from Buckingham Palace from 8am on Saturday, May 6, 2023.

It will also fly from Windsor Castle from 8am on Sunday, May 7.

The large Union Flag will fly at Windsor Castle on May 6.

These flags will be flown during the procession of the Commonwealth realms:

Read More on King Charles

A look at why Queen Camilla is being crowned at King Charles’ coronation

Royal fans baffled as London streets are lined with sand for Charles’ coronation

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Canada
  • Cameroon
  • Eswatini
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uganda
  • Zambia

Each Commonwealth flag is represented on the procession route among the many Union Flags.

During the procession into Westminster Abbey the following standards will be carried in:

  • The Standard of the Principality of Wales – borne by the Marquess of Anglesey
  • Standards of the Quarterings of the Royal Arms – borne by The Duke of Westminster, The Earl of Caledon KCVO, The Earl of Dundee DL
  • The Royal Standard – borne by Francis Dymoke

Most read in Fabulous


World watches Charles’ coronation and awaits historic moment he’s crowned


Minute-by-minute guide to coronation including time King will be anointed


Harry relegated to THIRD row at father's coronation alongside Andrew's kids


Speculation Prince Harry has landed back in UK for coronation as rift rages

Flags will also feature in the Coronation Procession after the crowning ceremony has finished.

What do the flags and standards mean?

The Royal Standard is also known as a banner of arms, as it depicts the shield of the Royal Arms.

The flag represents the monarch and is flown only when King Charles is in residence at one of the royal palaces, whilst travelling and on official duties.

Since the Union of the Crowns in 1603, the Royal Standard flag has changed over the years.

The flag today features four quadrants representing England (three lions in the first and fourth quadrant), Scotland (a lion rampant) and Ireland (a harp).

Wales is not represented in the Standard due to its historical position as a Principality in the context of the United Kingdom.

The State Standard is the personal royal flag of the Sovereign, King Charles, and cannot be flown without their permission.

The flag was used on the coffin of the late Queen Elizabeth II.

The Union Flag will also be used as it's the national flag of the United Kingdom.

The flag, also known as the Union Jack, as it combines the crosses of the three countries united under one Sovereign – the kingdoms of England and Wales, of Scotland and of Ireland.

It is today flown above Buckingham Palace, Windsor Castle and Sandringham when The King is not in residence.

Unlike the State Standard, the Union Flag can be flown at half-mast.

Read More on The Sun

How game show contestant won £87k but stunned TV bosses refused to pay out

Horror fans left ‘scared s***less’ after watching ‘creepy’ Netflix movie

The term Union Jack dates from Queen Anne's time, but its origin is uncertain.

The flag is flown on Government buildings on days marking the birthdays of members of the Royal Family, Commonwealth Day, Coronation Day, The King's birthday, Remembrance Day and on the days of the State Opening and prorogation of Parliament.

Source: Read Full Article